公益社団法人 日本外国特派員協会

#### The Foreign Correspondents' Club of Japan

100-0005 Japan, Tokyo-to, Chiyoda-ku, Marunouchi 3-2-3, Marunouchi Nijubashi Building 5F https://www.fccj.or.jp E-mail: front@fccj.or.jp Tel:+81-3-3211-3161 Fax:+81-3-3201-0677

### FCCJ AGM June 27: Voting results

The election committee would like to formally announce the results of the Annual General Meeting adjourned on June 27.

For the AGMM, a quorum was achieved with 157 votes cast (66 needed for quorum), with 79 votes necessary to achieve a majority.

Vote on motion to approve the Annual Report on the General Welfare of the Club and Annual Financial Report including Balance Sheet, Revenue & Expenditure Statements and Register of Assets for FY 2024 (April 1, 2024 to March 31, 2025): passed with 143 votes (139 absentee votes, 0 in person vote and 4 proxy votes) in favor, and ten votes (absentee vote) against.

Resolution Two: Approve a reduction in the initiation fee to zero yen for all categories of Regular membership for a period of one year as presented: **passed with 139 votes (135 absentee votes, 0 in person vote and 4 proxy votes) in favor, and ten votes (absentee vote) against.** 

Resolution Three: Approve the Board of Directors to launch a campaign to seek donations and sponsorships: **passed** with 136 votes (132 absentee votes, 0 in person vote and 4 proxy votes) in favor, and ten votes (absentee vote) against.

### Election of Directors and Kanji

Candidates for the Board from among Regular Members received the following numbers of votes. Khaldon Azhari: 77 Kathleen Benoza: 110 Elected Avi Gokool: 80 Elected Dave McCombs: 56 Michiyo Nakamoto: 101 Elected Anthony Rowley: 86 Elected Randy Schmidt: 101 Elected Daniel Sloan: 97 Elected

# Accordingly, members Benoza, Gokool, Nakamoto, Rowley, Schmidt and Sloan were elected with a majority of the votes cast.

Candidates from among Associate and Professional Associate Members received the following votes. Hinza Asif: 67 Milton Isa: 62 Michael King: 54 Taeko Nagayama: 55 David M. Umeda: 66 Masayuki Watanabe: 70

## Accordingly, no candidate was elected, and a run-off election is needed to fill the remaining three places for Associate Directors.

Candidates for Kanji from among Regular Members received the following votes. Martin Fackler: 130 Elected

### Accordingly, Regular Member Fackler was elected.

In order to fill the vacant seats, a run-off election will be held at an Extraordinary General Members meeting to be called by the Board within one month, tentatively scheduled on July 15, 2025, as required under the club's by-laws. The current Board will continue to serve until all nine Directors have been elected to form a new Board.

Election Committee Yoshisuke Iinuma (Chair) Hans Greimel (Member) Eric Johnston (Member)